BEA AGM elects office-bearers unanimously

Spread the love

: Expresses concern over court order against Times Now : At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Broadcast Editors’ Association, held on October 7, 2011, the members re-elected Shazi Zaman (Star News)  as the President, N.K. Singh (Sadhna News) as General Secretary, Sudhir Chaudhary (Live India)  as Treasurer  and Arnab Goswami (Times Now) and Pankaj Pachaury (NDTV) as Vice-presidents.

In addition to the above, the members of the Executive Committee are Qamar  Wahid Naqvi (Aaj Tak), Ashutosh (IBN-7), Ajit Anjum (News-24), Satish K Singh (Zee news), Vinod Kapri (India TV) and Vinay Tewary (CNN-IBN).

As the apex body of TV editors, the BEA general body resolved to espouse public issues more vigorously so as to make Indian electronic media more people-oriented.

The members expressed concern over the court order imposing a fine of rupees one hundred crores against Times Now in a defamation case. The BEA will discuss the matter and seek legal opinion since this issue has implications for the entire body of TV journalists.

The meeting also resolved to organize an international seminar on role of media in a healthy democracy titled “Shooting The Messenger“ in the second week of next month.

Treasurer Sudhir Chaudhary presented the accounts details which were ratified by the general body.  The general body meeting, chaired by President Shazi Zaman, also endorsed the decisions taken by the executive body. Mr. Naqvi proposed vote of thanks. Press Release

अपने मोबाइल पर भड़ास की खबरें पाएं. इसके लिए Telegram एप्प इंस्टाल कर यहां क्लिक करें :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *